Reaching Perfection

My mom was a casual painter. She took a few classes but most of her talent came naturally. A gift that was passed down to my kids. She was also a perfectionist and everything had to be just right. She was so critical of her own work that she put down her brush and never painted again.

Art work by Sandra Wagner

We all have the tendency to over critique ourselves, our work, and our lives to the point that we stop trying anymore. We see everything as imperfect. We reach for a standard we were never created to achieve this side of heaven.
We would do ourselves a world of good if we gave ourselves more grace. If we stopped looking through our own broken lens. What we see as imperfections in what we do, who we are, or how we look to those around us may in fact, and more often than not, be of genuine encouragement, beauty, and value to others.

Jesus uses imperfect, broken people to reveal His character and love. My mom was a believer; she and I were baptized on the same day. She never did pick up painting again, and her critical spirit hung on, but the lesson and value of her imperfections will always hang on my wall through her art, and in my heart through the perfection she desired and found in Christ.

Author: Denise Matthews

I'm a follower of Jesus Christ, wife, mother of five, and grandmother of four. My favorite things are missions in Africa, and leading women in ministry to be equipped for the call to ministry. My life verses are Psalm 32:5 and Luke 7:47.

Leave a comment